Stay Don’t Stray by Benefit

PRODUCT: Benefit Stay Don’t stray

COST:  $30

BOUGHT AT:  Sephora (at the advice of a beauty consultant)

I have been really annoyed lately at the way my sunscreen and the rest of my makeup are interacting.  I get clumps and pills when I try to add my foundation, and no matter what I try to prime my eyelids with, my eyeliner smudges and moves around and gets all over my lids.

Someone in Sephora suggested I try this primer to stop the makeup migration.  And because I have been looking at it for ages, I also grabbed the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner.  Neither of these purchases are compatible with my cheapskate mentality but I have been wanting that liner for ages, so oh well.

First impressions:  The color is very very yellowy.  It makes my eye area look quite different from the rest of my face.  I’m not wearing my face-makeup yet at this point, just my pre-makeup potions and my CeraVe AM moisturizer-sunscreen.  So far it’s the best I’ve been able to find, foundaiton interaction wise.  I do put it on my eyelids.

10 mins later:  creases

The 10 min time lapse is because  blowdry my hair while my sunscreen is absorbing.  When I came back to my makeup-station, the primer had already creased up in my eyelides.  I smoothed it all back down again and added my foundation to the rest of my face (I’m using a mixture of MISSHA Perfect Cover in #21, and Paula’s Choice All Bases Covered in Sand.  The combo seems to make the right shade on me.)  I brush everything over with e.l.f. powder foundation and a kabuki brush.

 The after: Kat Von D Tattoo liner, I love you.

The primer did seem to stop the tatto liner from getting onto my eyelids, I kept my eyes closed while it dried and it’s apparently stuck in place.

“That’s just my face, sir”

I’m wearing my Cailyn lip balm from the April IPSY bag.  Not bad!

THE VERDICT:  I wouldn’t buy this again, but I will use it until the bottle is empty.

              (Under $30) A bit pricy

                                      Just OK

Leave a comment