IPSY May 2014

DSC_0999  What is this, why is this here, is this allowed in my house, is this for us?

What’s an IPSY: IPSY sends out a package of surprises in the GLAM BAG (well, they spoil the surprise right before they ship, but when you but you don’t know what you are getting so it starts as a surprise.)

COST:  $10 a month (it’s $10 + $4.95 shipping)  Use my referral link to join if you want to share the love!

DELIVERY:  Ships Mid Month (Canada was a bit behind the US shipping from what I saw online)

WAITLIST:  Yes.  But if you refer someone they will move you off it.

This month was almost all skincare:

 DSC_1038

So, I’m picky about skincare.  I like what I like and I don’t like to try cheap new brands.  I’ve never heard of any of these, except Avene, so I’m not really excited to try them.  Especially in light of my recently very irritated skin.  So , because I haven’t actually tried these yet, I’m going to just talk about what I go, without much of a review.

DSC_1052DSC_1040  Pacifica Mineral Eyeshadow Duo

Meh.  Neutrals are always good I guess, but this isn’t exactly exciting new colors or even very pigmented.  The darker one is very very shimmery and gold, and the lighter one is going to make a really nice highlighter.  I’ll use this product, as you can see from the swatch it isn’t super pigmented, but the colors are nice.

Pur~lisse pur~moist hydra balance moisturizer:  Other reviews are raving about this, so once my skin is less mad, I’ll give it a try.  The full size is really expensive though ($50ish)

DSC_1048 DSC_1049

Avène Thermal Spring Water:  I like this one, it’s nice to spray on before I add my hydraulic acid serum.  The full size is listed at $18 online though, which is damn pricy for a bottle of water.

DSC_1050 Hey Honey Take It Off! Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask:  I like peeling masks.  This is another I’ll give a try to once my face heals.  Honey is great for me, usually.  This is another with a pricy full size ($35) but I feel OK about spending that much on a really good mask.

DSC_1051 Jersey Shore Sun® Sans Tan Anti-aging Sunscreen: I actually kind of thought this was going to be tanning lotion at first glance, based on the name.  SPF 35, isn’t bad.  This is another expensive one, at $40 for 2oz.  The sample is really little, but I’ll give it a go.


 Overall, I’m not happy with this bag.  I’ve got my IPSY preferences set to NO skincare, and that’s pretty much all this is.  Tiny tiny samples don’t have a lot of value to me, even to try and figure out if I like a product.  By the time I’m done spot testing these they look small enough that they will probably be empty.

(Under $20)

 

  I will use the products, but I don’t expect to buy any, and the value to cost just isn’t there this month.

 

2 thoughts on “IPSY May 2014

Leave a Reply

