Akemia Apothicary – INDIE Pervume Review

Alkemia offers 5 samples for $10 including shipping on their site, which is a really nice way to get to test some perfumes out.  This was actually my first indie perfume purchase, so I kind of picked at random.  I guess there is a pretty good amount of trial and error when leaning the notes and what perfumers do best, and even just what I like and don’t like, so this purchase wasn’t entirely successful.  But I’m learning.

They run from an Etsy shop, which is nice because Etsy lets me keep a running cart forever, that I can place my favorites into so I don’t forget what I like from a shop when I get all wrapped up in ordering from a seasonal release or a sale.  (#Indieworldproblems.)

IMG_3786The turn around time was great, I had these in my mailbox in about a week.

On to the scents:

Vixen: White Amber, Musk, Jasmine Tea, Sugar Pumpkin, Moss

Based on the ingredient list I didn’t expect this to work for me, but Alkemia apparently used an Amber that my skin chemistry really likes and doesn’t morph into pure incense.  This smells warm and cozy, and a tiny bit spicy (the musk and pumpkin maybe?)  it’s creamy and sexy and really nice.

Burning Roses: dark red roses and burning divinatory incenses – smouldering frankincense, champa, labdanum

I was initially worried about my Alkemia Perfume order because this scent was so overpowering and SO strongly hippie head shop incense, that it actually made all the labels on the other bottles of perfume in my sample order smell like it.

Hellcat: Black Oud, Black Musk, Labdanum, and spiced Pipe Tobacco blended with a seductive purr of Black Opium

I really don’t know why I thought I would like this one.  Musk and Labdanum.  This perfume is exactly what I feared indie perfumes would turn out to be before I gave them a try.  So many promises of sexy, and so much incense instead.

adorem xxi: Ardorem 21 is a complex elixir of 21 precious essences including: Coriander, Mandarin, Amber, Nutmeg, Saffron, Bourbon Geranium, Blue Lotus, Tobacco, Musk, Clove, Sandalwood, Vetiver, Kashmiri Tea, Cardamom, Black Pepper, and Japanese incense

This is nice.  The initial scent is pure watery floral.  It’s similar enough to mens cologne like Davidoff makes, aquatic and with pretty decent sillage.  This leans a bit masculine for my tastes, and smells a bit like the aftershave or cologne one of my male colleagues (my cube neighbour) wears.  I don’t really not like it, but it’s not my style.

Tryst of Grey: An utterly beguiling blend of Earl Grey Tea, lightly brewed Black Assam Tea, Scarlet Monarda (also known as Wild Bergamot), a fresh twist of Bergamot citrus peel, and golden skin musk teased with long, slow kisses of orange blossom honey.

On application it’s bergamot and tea.  It somehow doesn’t really smell like Earl Grey though, because it’s got something almost floral in it as well.  As it drys down it starts to get really citrusy and fresh smelling, but still with a lot of tea.  I think what I was expecting was more a London Fog early grey with something sweet type scent, and this isn’t like that at all.  It’s fresh and clean and I really like it.

 

I think I need Tryst of Grey in a full size, but the rest I’m going to pass.  That’s what sample sizes are for, so I’m happy with my purchase!

Leave a comment